missemmamm

thoughts of an introspective party girl

March Movie Madness

Posted by missemmamm on March 4, 2010

Alice In Wonderland-3/5
I’m sure you know what this one is about. I’ve been super excited about seeing it since I first saw the trailer online last summer during Comic Con. Some reviews say that it isn’t trippy enough and that since it was converted from 2D to 3D that is doesn’t look as great as it could. Whenever I think of Helena Bonham Carter I think of Marla Singer and this awesome spread she did for Maxim when the Planet of the Apes remake was released so I had to share. The pairing of Bonham, her beau Burton and Depp always excites me. Burton and Depp are so in sync in the Ustream screencap below which is awesome. I wonder if they have ever had a threeway? Hey, I can’t be the only one thinking this. Alice has a huge amount of merchandise tie ins. My favorites are the Drink Me Necklace , Red Queen Handbag , OPI Absolutely Alice Nail Polish , a really awesome Red Queen Tee and Tim Burton Designed Alice Costume which unfortunately will not be released until July. If you want to do your makeup like the Red Queen check this out which actually scares me a little. The last photo is Anne Hathaway at the UK premiere. Since she starred in the Devil Wears Prada it shouldn’t surprise me everytime I love something she wears, but for some reason it does.

Photobucket

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Photobucket

Bonus: New Yorker’s can check out Burton’s MoMA exhibit through April 26th.

Brookyln’s Finest-3/5
This looks like a standard cop movie but you know I love those. Richard Gere, Ethan Hawke, Don Cheadle & (gasp) Wesley Snipes star. When it’s mentioned that Gere’s character is almost ready for retirement in the trailer you just know he’ll be dead by the end.

She’s Out Of My League-3/12
The unlikely pairing of a hot girl and a nerd (well in Hollywood, I see this all the time IRL & in reverse) leads to everyone cracking dirty jokes. Initially I didn’t pay attention to this one coming out because it looks like a bunch of movies I’ve seen & I don’t care about Jay Baruchel. Then I saw the trailer and it seems pretty funny.

The Bounty Hunter-3/19
A bounty hunter’s current assignment is his ex wife. This looks like another in a string of awful Aniston movies that I wouldn’t watch if it weren’t for the fact that Butler is in it. Due to that I will eventually catch it on Blu Ray. Oh & the only thing funny about the trailer is an insult someone makes to Aniston’s character about her age, ouch!  Do I believe that Aniston is conveniently dating another leading man? Yeah, I also believe that she has a bridge to sell me.

Repo Men-3/19

Repo Men
Repo! The Genetic Opera
Repo Man
Repo Men is basically a rip off of the largely unseen Repo! The Genetic Opera which most people who see it usually love or hate it. I thought it was pretty cool. The thing that bothers me is this looks like it could be good. Plus it stars Jude Law, Liev Schreiber and Forest Whitaker (who is, IMHO, 1 of the best actors out there). No, this has nothing to do with the old Emilio Estevez movie. This is about repossessing organs, not cars.

Bonus: Follow Repo! The Genetic Opera’s director Darren Bousman on twitter

Hot Tub Time Machine-3/26
Photobucket
The premise is that a group of middle aged guys are getting drunk in a hot tub and they end up going back in time to the 80’s. People wear 80s clothes that they gawk at (uh, didn’t they come back into style like a min ago?) and laughter ensues. It’s so ridiculous that it has to be hilarious. I really think they need to start advertising this flick more if they want to rake in the dough.

Bonus: Follow John Cusack and co-writer Jarrad Paul on twitter

Chloe-3/26 (Limited)
Photobucket
This film about a woman hiring a prostitute to get her husband to cheat is getting a lot of attention for a kiss between the leads Julianne Moore and Amanda Seyfried. Overall it looks like it could be good unfortunately I’ll have to wait forever to see it.

Leave a Reply

 
