missemmamm

thoughts of an introspective party girl

KFC Double Down Review

Posted by missemmamm on April 20, 2010

You may have noticed that I don’t usually write about food. I don’t have a discerning palette and I don’t go out to fancy restaurants. I rarely eat out and I don’t cook. I eat a lot of frozen or dried meals. When I saw the new KFC Double Down I thought it looked pretty cool. However a quick search for reviews yielded mostly blurbs about how it was gross and they were practically forced to eat because they’re reviewers. Plus it always seems to be a shock to people that fast food has a lot of calories and fat. Duh. You’re not supposed to eat it all the time. So I thought I’d do my own.

KFC Double Down Collage

The KFC Double Down is the new bunless sandwich at KFC. It’s 2 chicken filets with 2 slices of bacon, 2 slices of cheese (pepper jack & monterey jack) and the Colonel’s Sauce in the middle. You can get it in original recipe or grilled. It comes in a wrapper so you can hold it without getting your fingers greasy. The meal deal was $6.99 at my local KFC (Southwest Pennsylvania) or $4.99 for just the sandwich. I opted for the original recipe meal.

The sandwich seemed kind of small in comparison to the container. I had a hard time trying to eat it like a sandwich so after a couple of bites I pulled it apart and ate with a fork. The best part of the sandwich was the chicken. The cheese wasn’t completely melted. I am usually a big fan of cheese but I just didn’t like the kind they used. The flavor was off. It would also taste better with more bacon. The special sauce was okay but nothing to write home about. Due to the sauce and cheese it has a slightly spicy flavor.

It was okay but in the future I’ll stick with my favorite KFC item the Twister.

RUNDOWN:
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Ingredients: KFC Original Recipe Filet, Bacon, Pepper Jack Cheese, Monterey Jack Cheese, Colonel’s Sauce (Soybean Oil, Water, Distilled Vinegar, Egg Yolk, Sugar, Salt, Modified Corn Starch, Paprika, Xanthan Gum, Monosodium Glutamate, Spice, Chicken Broth, Garlic Powder, Propylene Glycol Alginate, Potassium Sorbate, Autolyzed Yeast Extract, Soy Sauce (Soybean, Wheat, Salt), Natural Flavor, Chicken Fat, Dehydrated Chicken and Hydrolyzed Corn Gluten.
Contains Egg, Wheat and Soy.)
Grilled Double Down: KFC Grilled Filet or Tender Roast Chicken Filet, Colonel’s Sauce, Bacon, Pepper Jack Cheese, Monterey Jack Cheese

Calories 540 Calories, 290 Calories From Fat, 32g Trans Fat, 10g Saturated Fat, 11 Carbohydrates
Grilled Double Down 460 Calories, 210 Calories From Fat, 23g, 9g Saturated Fat, 3 Carbohydrates
Full Nutrition Info here on the official KFC site.

If you want to try to make your own check out Can’t Wait for the KFC Double Down Sandwich? Make It Yourself? by Robert Sietsema.

KFC is currently raising money for Susan G. Komen For The Cure for Breast Cancer. Check out how you can help here.


KFC Double Down Commercial


Leave a Reply

