missemmamm

thoughts of an introspective party girl

Movie Review: It’s Complicated

Posted by missemmamm on April 27, 2010

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

4 out of 5 stars
starring Meryl Streep, Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin

FYI: Be aware of the fact that I don’t write and only skim in depth movie reviews. Spoilers aren’t my thing. To me reviews are about whether or not I (or you) should see it.

When It’s Complicated was released I was super excited to see it. It looked like it was right up my alley. Plus it stars Alec Baldwin who I watch (& salivate over) regularly on 30 Rock. Then I started seeing movie reviewers putting the movie down and basically say “gross, old people in love”. That’s when I thought about my reaction. I’m not into watching senior romances anymore than any other 20 something woman. However this film stars two actors that I love. I was a big fan of Streep growing up because of the movie Death Becomes Her. My sister and I used to watch it all of the time. I rewatched it on Christmas Eve and it still rocked. Alec was trickier to figure out. While growing up my favorite Baldwin , as a child of the 90s, was Stephen not Alec. I remember liking the Juror but I didn’t really care much about Alec until he started to do an amazing job of guest hosting Saturday Night Live. Incidentally, Martin and Baldwin appeared together in a sketch on SNL not long ago.

I unsuccessfully tried to see the film quite a few times before I actually was able to but the wait was worth it. The film is about a woman who starts seeing her ex husband again after they’ve been divorced for years. The complicated decision is whether or not she actually wants to pursue this. Add a dash of a love triangle with Martin and some overly affectionate offspring and you get the general plot. The fun comes in getting to see Streep, Baldwin and Martin act silly and happy and rediscovering love.

Another great thing about this movie is it’s rated R. So many romantic comedies come out that are PG or PG-13 and sex is hinted at or giggled about like the characters are 11 or something. This movie is more realistic. These are normal adults who get laid, drink, etc. Plus Baldwin is a little self deprecating which is nice to see for a change. Martin also surprised me as a more meek, forlorn character than he usually plays. There are quite a few talented actors in the supporting cast. This includes John Krasinksi who I’m glad to see acting again after I tried to watch that movie he directed, ugh. I think one of the reasons I really dig this movie is because I can sympathize with all three of the main characters (from different times of course). BTW-If you’re looking for a laugh this is more sweet funny than knee slapping funny.

Verdict: If you like romantic comedies Rent/Buy this.

Buy It’s Complicated on Blu-ray or DVD.

Rent It’s Complicated on Netflix.

Buy Death Becomes Her and Saturday Night Live-The Best of Alec Baldwin on DVD.

Check out Alec Baldwin’s Saturday Night Live sketches on Hulu

If you want to read about the house the film was shot in go here.

Leave a Reply

 
