missemmamm

thoughts of an introspective party girl

Be a Backer: Rena Riffel’s Showgirl

Posted by missemmamm on May 22, 2010

YouTube Preview Image

Go back the new movie SHOWGIRL, then come back and finish reading this.

Here’s the thing, Showgirls is my favorite movie. I have a list of about 10 movies that I list when someone asks what my favorites are and I used to have a hard time picking one until it was so obvious that it is Showgirls. This is the usual conversation “What’s your favorite movie?” “Showgirls” “You mean that awful movie with all of the naked people” “I think you mispronounced awesome”. I could give you a list of reasons why I love it. The main thing is it’s about going after your dreams no matter what. Nomi is not the most talented girl but she wants it. I could give you a ton of other reasons but I don’t feel the need to justify what I like.

Over the years Showgirls has become a cult classic. I believe there are a mostly silent section of people who unabashedly love the movie like I do. The majority though is people who have decided to love the movie ironically. That’s fine too. If that’s how you look at the flick, I suggest this article.

Currently actress Rena Riffel is using Kickstarter to get her new movie SHOWGIRL made. She refers to it as a “sleazquel” or a “satire” to the original Showgirls about her character Penny Slot/Helga.

showgirls coll

Rena Riffel is the actress who plays “Penny” or “Hope” in the original Showgirls. The next year she also appeared as Tiffany in Striptease. I always wondered about that and had wrongly assumed the woman who appeared in both films was a real stripper and that’s why she happened to be both. When I found out about this project last night it blew my mind in the most awesome way.

YouTube Preview Image

Showgirls

YouTube Preview Image

Striptease

You can pledge $2 or more. The coolest available reward is a walk on role in the movie with your pledge of $200 or more. There are less than 30 of these available. If that’s not your thing you can get a special thanks credit for $150. For just $35 you can get an autographed 8X10 of Rena Riffel and an autographed DVD of her film Trasharella.

There are 33 days left and the film is already over half funded which is pretty impressive on Kickstarter. For more on how Kickstarter works go here.

Read Rena Riffel’s blog and follow her on twitter.

Pre-order the Blu-Ray of the original Showgirls or get the VIP Limited Edition DVD Set or the Fully Exposed Edition DVD. All of them include the same extras on the disc.

If you wonder how big of a Showgirls fan I really am,

with the VIP DVD set, ignore the silly face I'm making

with the VIP DVD set, ignore the silly face I’m making

YouTube Preview Image
video I shot of the outside of the Riviera when I was in Vegas last year

UPDATE-May 30, 2010
More rewards have been added. There are currently walk on roles, dancing parts or work on the crew.

Bookmark and Share

This entry was posted on May 22, 2010 at 6:22 pm and is filed under Movies/TV.
Tagged: , , .
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

One Response to “Be a Backer: Rena Riffel’s Showgirl

  1.   Rena (Penny/Hope from Showgirls) Says:

    May 23rd, 2010 at 1:55 am

    Hi Mary!!

    Thank you soooo much!!! I love your blog!! I love your style!!! I’m so happy that we have been connected :-) Thank you for supporting Showgirls and Showgirl ;-)

    All the best Darlin’!!

    Love,
    Rena
    Penny/Hope from Showgirls XO

2 Responses to “Be a Backer: Rena Riffel’s Showgirl”

  1. […] Best Shot Showgirls post. It appears I’m late but oh well. As you know if you read my blog, Showgirls is my favorite movie. I even bought a role in Rena Riffel’s sequel Showgirl. FYI: She has begun filming and has […]

  2. […] Best Shot Showgirls post. It appears I’m late but oh well. As you know if you read my blog, Showgirls is my favorite movie. I even bought a role in Rena Riffel’s sequel Showgirl. FYI: She has begun filming and has […]

Leave a Reply

 
