missemmamm

thoughts of an introspective party girl

Recipe: Mary’s Chicken Wonton Style Tacos

Posted by missemmamm on June 15, 2010

A few days ago I was thinking about the Applebee’s Chicken Wonton Tacos. I really wanted some but they treated me like shit on my birthday. I just wanted the flavor not the attitude. So I figured someone must have come up with a rip off of this recipe on the net. I found a couple of good ones without too many ingredients. I finally got to the store today to pick up what I didn’t have. BTW-I don’t cook. It’s not that I don’t think I can cook (I think if you have a recipe you can make most stuff) I just don’t like it. I think it’s boring and annoying and makes your hands smell.

My Tacos

My Tacos

Applebee's Chicken Wonton Tacos

Applebee’s Chicken Wonton Tacos

The two recipes I fused together and augmented like Frankenstein’s monster were Stacey’s Version of Applebee’s Wonton Tacos by Stacerlady and Spicy Chicken Wonton Tacos by Suburban Wife.

Ingredients:
Tacos

3 Skinless, Boneless Chicken Breasts-if you have large breasts like I did (gaffaw), you may want to use less. I had a bunch of chicken left over.
Mr. Yoshida Ginger Garlic Teriyaki Sauce

1/2 Package Cole Slaw Mix
1/4 cup diced red onion
1/4 cup Ken’s Lite Accents Asian Vinaigrette
1/2 pack (4) Ortega Whole Wheat Tortillas
Vegetable Oil
Taragon Leaves
Celery Salt
Slivered Almonds
Lemon Juice

Lemon Pepper Salt

Dipping Sauce:
Honey Mustard Dressing and Wishbone Salad Spritzers Balsamic Breeze Vinaigrette Mixed

Instructions:
1. Cut 4 tortillas in half and wrap them around the edge of a pot to shape them.
2. Mix 1/2 bag of cole slaw mix (don’t include the dressing if it comes with it), 1/4 cup red onion, some taragon leaves, celery salt (eyeballed), a couple of handfuls of slivered almonds and 1/4 cup Asian vinaigrette in a bowl. Refrigerate for an hour (this is how long it took me to finish the rest of it but you may have to wait if you’re faster).
3. Boil chicken breasts. Season with lemon juice and lemon pepper salt.
4. Cut up chicken breasts into little pieces.
5. Fry chicken breasts in teriyaki sauce.

6. Fry tortillas.
7. Put cole slaw mixture and chicken in tacos.
8. Mix the honey mustard dressing and balsamic vinaigrette to make a dipping sauce (1/2 and 1/2). Eyeball how much you need for however many you’re serving.

Cooking Time: 30 minutes for people who cook. 1 hour for people like me who never cook and it takes them extra time to cut stuff up.

Number of Tacos: 8-(2-4 servings). I like to eat 3 at a time.

Notes: I omitted stuff from the other recipes that I don’t like-diced jalapenos and lime. (Yes, the Hispanic community used to love when I did shots of tequila w/o lime. They thought I was being a badass. I just don’t like it.)

I also didn’t have any red pepper flakes or cilantro so I substituted.
The other recipes didn’t mention a dipping sauce but the Applebee’s where I live always serve them with one. It has a honey mustard tang so I threw something together.
Plus I went to 3 different stores and no one around here sells wonton wrappers (what you’re supposed to use as the taco shells) so I just got the whole wheat tortillas. You can probably get that specialty shit in NYC or something but not here. You could use whatever type of tortillas you want or have.
I did burn the tacos but I turned them inside out and I don’t care. They still tasted good.
I always like how people in movies drink wine while they cook but I don’t really drink wine so I had a beer.

Leave a comment